Pearl City Top Guns, Fontes and Tokunaga tally in Pearl City winning rally

Feb 3, 2017 | PC Sports

Pearl City scored two second half goals to rally past #3 Baldwin 2-1 in the quarterfinal round of the 2017 HHSAA State Girls Division I Soccer Championships on Thursday at the Waipio Peninsula Soccer Complex in Waipahu.

Baldwin came into contest as the reigning Maui Interscholastic Champion, #3 seed in the state championship tournament, undefeated regular season record, and a shot at avenging their loss to the Lady Chargers in the last year's state championship title game. Last night's quarterfinal game between the two schools was played exactley as it was billed with tough and aggressive style play from end to end, goal to goal on the main stadium turf.

Baldwin's Skylar Littlefield gave the Lady Bears a 1-0 lead on a goal at 25:37 of the first half. The Lady Bears went into halftime with their 1-0 lead and fended off a barrage of Lady Chargers shots on goal in the second half until Sunshine Fontes tied the game at 64:56. A couple minutes later Daelenn Tokunaga kicked in what proved to be the winning goal at 66:53. The win advanced the Lady Chargers to the championship tournament semifinals tonight against ILH Champion and #2 seed Punahou at 7:00pm at the Waipio Peninsula Soccer Complex main stadium . OIA Champion and #1seed Mililani will take on Iolani in the other semifinal match-up scheduled for 5:00pm. Iolani blanked Aiea 3-0 last night to advance to the semifinals.



Thursday, February 2  Quarterfinal Scores:
Iolani 3  #4 Hilo 0
#2 Punahou 4  Castle 1
#1 Milani 3  Aiea  1
Pearl City 2  #3 Baldwin 1


Photo by Barry Villamil | [email protected]

#25 Sunshine Fontes is pictured receiving congratulatory hugs from teammates

Daelenn Tokunaga and sister Randi Fontes after scoring to tie the game at 1-1 at 64:56.

Photo by Barry Villamil | [email protected]

Daelenn Tokunaga fires the ball past the Baldwin goalie scoring

the winning goal that broke the 1-1 tie at 66:53 in the second half

Photo by Barry Villamil | [email protected]

Game Winner!