Roosevelt takes out Lady Chargers 4-2 in OIA championship quarterfinals

Apr 27, 2018 | PC Sports

Roosevelt took down Pearl City 4-2 yesterday afternoon in the quarterfinals of the Oahu Interscholastic Association Division I Softball Championship Playoffs played at Roosevelt.

The Lady Chargers rallied for two runs in the top of the seventh inning but left the tieing run on second base to end the game.

Roosevelt’s Jaeda Cabunoc earned the win pitching six complete innings while allowing no runs, three hits with two strikeouts and four walks. Mari Foster earned the save pitching one complete inning with no runs, one hit, no strikeouts and two walks.

Pearl City ace Jozayah Iriarte took the loss for the Lady Chargers pitching 4 1/3 innings while allowing four runs on five hits with no strikeouts and three walks. Maiyah Faleafine-Lesu pitched 1 2/3 innings in relief allowing no runs, no hits with one strikeout and one walk.

Kylie Kawamura led the Roughriders at the plate hitting 2-3 with one run scored. Tiani Sniffen had a very productive day the plate for the Lady Roughriders hitting 1-3 with a homerun, 2 RBI and a run scored.

Braelynn Kaulu-Choy Foo led the Chargers at the plate hitting 2-4 with one RBI. Tiari Hernandez went 1-3 with a double. Taryn Fujioka batted 1-3 with a run scored.

The Lady Roughriders move on to tonight’s championship semifinals at McKinley High School and will face Leilehua who shut-out Waianae in the yesterday's quarterfinals 9-0 at Kaala Field.

The Lady Chargers (8-6) will take on Waianae (5-9) this afternoon in the championship tournament 5th place semifinals. First pitch is scheduled for 3:00pm.



@ Roosevelt

                                 1   2   3   4   5   6   7   R   H   E

Pearl City (8-6)           0   0   0    0   0   0   2   2    4   1

Roosevelt (5-9)          1   0   0   1   2    0   X   4    5   0


Thursday's Quarterfinal Results
@ Campbell
Mililani 1
Campbell 11
Kapolei  13
Kaiser 2
Waianae 0
Leilehua 9
@ Roosevelt
Pearl City 2
Roosevelt 4


Friday's Semifinals
@ McKinley
5:00pm Roosevelt vs. Leilehua
7:00pm Campbell vs. Roosevelt